Is there enough yellow in your life?

Yesterday I excitedly opened the package of my mail-ordered copy of The Persistence of Yellow and dove right in. I had stumbled across the book through Amazon’s genius “Frequently Bought Together” section (which seems to snag my attention more times than not), and I was eager to explore its content.

If you aren’t familiar with the book, it includes page after page of short, imaginative thoughts alongside whimsical contour drawings, with an unsurprising abundance of yellow splattered throughout.

Example: “On Tuesday, she woke up and realized she had forgotten the definition of the word ‘Impossible.’ She decided it must not have been important.”

After enjoying a few of its enchanting lines and passages, I came to believe that there really is no such thing as too much yellow in one’s life. Light, joy, freedom, fullness.

And so I am inspired to start a collection of yellow items to serve as simple, tangible reminders to look for luster in the experiences and people I encounter each day. Perhaps I’ll come across my first object today.

Is there enough yellow in your life?

