How is Love opening you up?

A professor introduced me to The Brilliance last semester, and I was immediately taken. This group, which comprises David Gungor (of Gungor, another favorite) and John Arndt, released a refreshingly original self-titled album in 2010, and then went on to produce Lent and Advent albums with similarly enrapturing melodies, harmonies, and lyrics. The duo’s bio page sums up their essence as “musically rich, theologically brave, and emotionally honest,” and I agree. Open Up is one such beauty:

You heard the cry of our hearts, and you came down 
Freely you gave us your love, showing us how

Make me an instrument of your peace
Where there is hatred, let me sow love
Where there is darkness, let me shine light

May your love cause us to open up, cause us to open up our hearts
May your light cause us to shine so bright that we bring hope into the dark

All that we do without love, it means nothing
Grant us the courage to give as you’re calling

Make me an instrument of your peace
Where there is hatred let me sow love
Where there is darkness let me shine light

Hope for the hopeless, your love is
Strength in our weakness, your love is

May we love as you love 

How is Love opening you up?

