How do you deal with disappointment?

I’m bummed. A piece of unanticipated news just dropped in my email inbox, and I want to send it right back where it came from with a polite reply:

I’m sorry, but you must be mistaken. The content of your email was not included in today’s script. I’ll graciously rewind about an hour or so, giving you plenty of time to realign your message with my wishes.
Thank you kindly.

Did I mention I’m bummed? I had expectations (which tend to be a set-up for potential disappointment and/or resentment), and now they aren’t going to be met. How dare God alter my path without asking my permission!

While I (halfway) joke about wanting to undo what’s just been done, a deeper part of me knows to very simply pray Thy will, not mine, be done. Like so many parts of life, I have no say over this situation. Experience has taught me that my lack of control over people, places and things is actually a blessed truth because a God of Love who created everything, sees everything, and understands everything has got this whole world in his very capable hands. Whether I choose to believe it or not, his realm even includes the incredibly-minor-in-the-whole-scheme-of-things news that Yahoo just delivered.

From where I stand at this moment, it doesn’t seem like the surprise change is favorable, but in truth I have not a clue how the story will play out. It’s quite likely that I could look back in a week, a month, a year, or even a decade and praise God for altering my path. So why not start praising him now?

And maybe, just maybe, this unforeseen twist isn’t about MY good – gasp! – but rather about the COMMON good, and what’s best for everyone who is involved.

God, I thank you for your care, which was just as deep prior to the email as it is in this present moment. I thank you that you have protected and provided for me so faithfully from before I was born. I hand you my disappointment, which is just masked fear (mixed with some negative thinking that now everything won’t work out well, as well as some pride that I think I know better than you how everything should roll). I choose to trust you and your plan. I love you, my father and friend, and I pray to have your perspective.

How do you deal with disappointment?

