Does your brain get tired from too much information?

Brain overload.

Lately I’ve felt like words are flying at me — so many blogs to skim, articles to scan, posts to scroll. The topics are infinite, and the opinions are exhausting. He says, she says. We argue, they contest. This angle, that slant. And as my mind tries to sort, focus, process, and filter, I find myself repeatedly thinking…so what? Who cares? What’s the purpose of all this talk?

Where’s the quiet?

Feeling bombarded by an incessant stream of both written and spoken syllables, my sensitive introverted self wants to escape. I find the sweet comfort of sleep seeming even sweeter than usual, as it irresistibly offers to switch off my brain and shut out every sound. An imagined secluded cottage outside of cellular reception also whispers to something inside me — that part deep down that hungers for silence to reign and for nothing to disrupt the voiceless dialogue between my soul and the Spirit.

Today my being craves simple silence and my brain years for the soft and slow. All of the voices ever-so-eager to enlighten the world with their invaluable opinions…today it just feels like way too much.

As I read scripture this morning, I was reminded of how Jesus sure seems to have an unfathomably amazing brain capacity. And in reflecting upon that, I was also reminded how grateful I am that he’s God and I’m not.

He knows every thought.
Jesus knew what they were thinking and asked, “Why are you thinking these things in your hearts? (Luke 5:22)

He knows our very nature.
But Jesus didn’t trust them, because he knew human nature. No one needed to tell him what mankind is really like. (John 2:24-25)

He knows the past.
And now, O Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was. (John 17:5)

He knows the future.
On the way, he took the Twelve aside and said to them, “We are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be delivered over to the chief priests and the teachers of the law. They will condemn him to death and will hand him over to the Gentiles to be mocked and flogged and crucified. On the third day he will be raised to life!” (Matthew 20:17-19)

He knows where his all of his kids are.
“How do you know me?” Nathanael asked. Jesus answered, “I saw you while you were still under the fig tree before Philip called you.” (John 1:48)

He knows the true meaning of every Word.
They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road [to Emmaus] and opened the Scriptures to us?” (Luke 24:32)

Geez louise, God’s brain sure handles a lot. Just for today, I’d like to practice being simple-minded, resting and trusting that he knows everything and allowing myself to know not much at all.

Does your brain get tired from too much information?

