What does “praise and worship” mean to you today?

Not long ago a very special human and I chatted about how the phrase “praise and worship” is by no means limited to K-love Christian radio or hands held high at Sunday morning services. He commented that there’s something soul-stirringly spiritual about George Strait and his tunes. For sure.

Dancing in the kitchen to classic jams is also a pure form of praise, says research professor, writer, and speaker Brene Brown:

I measure the spiritual health of our family by how much dancing is happening in our kitchen. Seriously. [My son’s] favorite dance song is ‘Kung Fu Fighting,’ and [my daughter] likes Vanilla Ice’s ‘Ice Ice Baby’! We’re music and dance lovers, not snobs…we don’t have a big kitchen so when the four of us are in there, sock-footed and sliding around, it looks more like a mosh pit than a sock hop. It’s messy, but it’s always fun.

I see that my understanding and expression of “praise and worship” has shifted and changed throughout my hours, days, months, and years. When traveling abroad, I’ve experienced a deep spiritual connection through foreign lyrics and rhythms that I couldn’t even begin to follow. When a member of a traditional church, old hymns sometimes awoke my spirit and at other times put me to sleep. In some seasons I’ve enjoyed the contemporary songs popularized on the radio; during others, I’ve reacted strongly against them. It’s kind of interesting to reflect on the developmental ages and stages of each taste.

Today, the notes and words of the song below are speaking to me. (If they resonate with you, maybe click through and watch this other one as well.)

What does “praise and worship” mean to you today?

